Our Team

The Cyber-Physical Mobility Group is part of the Chair of Embedded Software at RWTH Aachen University. Our research in the field of Cyber-Physical Mobility focuses on the interdisciplinary intersection of control engineering, mathematical optimization, communications, embedded software, and perception. Our research interests include distributed decision-making and verification, service-oriented software architecture, machine learning, and their applications to connected and automated vehicles.

We conduct various projects in this research area funded by public organizations and industrial partners. The Cyber-Physical Mobility Lab is our group-wide project that makes our research results tangible, both for the scientific staff as well as for students.
Please find more information on our
group website and follow us on YouTube and ResearchGate.

Open Positions

We are always looking for motivated and ambitious persons to join our team. We offer PhD positions, theses, and student assistant positions.

Current Members

Dr. Bassam Alrifaee

I contribute to the Lab architecture and lead the CPM Group in research and eduction.

Julius Beerwerth, M.Sc.

I contribute to the Lab software and conduct research in the AUTOtech.agil project.

Alexandru Kampmann, M.Sc.

I contribute to the Lab infrastructure and conduct research in the  UNICARagil project.

David Philipp Klüner, M.Sc.

I contribute to the Lab remote access and conduct research in the AUTOtech.agil project.

Armin Mokhtarian, M.Sc.

I contribute to the Lab’s remote access and conduct research in the  UNICARagil project.

Simon Schäfer, M.Sc.

I contribute to the Lab’s software and do research on sensor data fusion.

Patrick Scheffe, M.Sc.

I contribute to the Lab vehicles and localization and conduct research in the GROKO-PLAN project.

Jianye Xu, M.Sc.

I contribute to the CPM Olympics and conduct research in the HarMobi project.

Completed PhD

Dr. Maximilian Kloock

I worked in the AutoKnigge project and my contributions in the Lab were the architecture and software.

Current Student Members

Fabio Sonnenschein
Florian Raeth
Georg Dorndorf
Hans Schmitz
Hendrik Steidl
Julius Kahle
Karl Kämmerling
Lucas Hegerath
Min Li
Niels Freitag
Paul Kailer

Former Student Members

Almut Herzog
Carlos Yeverino
Celina Kalus
Christoph Frauzem
Danyel Coban
Dennis Ukehaxhaj
Feras Mulhem
Hadi Elnemr
Hannah Spallek
Isabelle Tülleners
Jan Brüggenjürgen
Janis Maczijewski
Johannes Rolf
Lasse Jacob
Leon Gentges
Leon Rabanus
Marius Hasselbach
Melek Altuntas
Pascal Sahner
Philip Kindermann
Phillip Ahlers
Robert Meyer
Robin Münstermann
Samantha Kamel
Thomas Schemmer
Valerie Pfannschmidt

Contact us!

Please use the contact form or one of the following channels to get in touch.


+ 49 241 80 21151




Informatik 11 – Embedded Software
RWTH Aachen University
Ahornstr. 55, 52074 Aachen

Follow us on